Saturday, April 13, 2013

What to read next (April 2013)

It's time for another installment of 'What to read next'! Today, I've included recommendations for New Adult, Literary Fiction, Womens Fiction, Historical Fiction/Fantasy, and SciFi. Take your pick!

1) My Deliberate Mistake, by Claire Svendsen

"Drowning was supposed to fix everything. We were meant to die together. That's not what happened.

Ana Turner goes through shrinks like normal girls run through boyfriends. They'd probably be able to help her if she ever told them what was actually wrong..."

Svendsen shines in her debut novel My Deliberate Mistake, a New Adult psychological thriller. (If you're wondering what 'New Adult' means, it's like YA but grown-up, with more adult themes and situations.) This is a refreshingly original story about a girl on the edge who probably needs her meds to keep her mental health in balance. But what Svendsen does so artfully is keep you guessing as to what is real and what might only be in Ana Turner's head. This is a really fast-paced read with twists and turns. Brilliantly written. If you like something edgy and delve into this, you'll see why I'm so excited about discovering this new author.

2)  Don't Let Me Go, by Catherine Ryan Hyde

"The heart-breaking, funny, and life-affirming story of a building full of loners and misfits who come together to help a little girl survive—and thrive—against all odds."

 This is the second of Hyde's books I've read and as with When You Were Older, this one tugged at my emotions and made me feel for the characters. Don't Let Me Go is another great work of literary fiction about a bunch of misfits and loners in an apartment complex on the bad side of town who band together to care for a young girl in need. These people don't want to get involved, yet they can't not help. Gradually, they all draw closer together. At the core of the story is young Grace, who talks a little too loudly and says what's on her mind, and Billy, a former performer who shares his love of dance with Grace and in doing so takes steps towards overcoming his phobia.

3) A Scattered Life, by Karen McQuestion

"Free-spirit Skyla Plinka has found the love and stability she always wanted in her reliable husband Thomas. Settling into her new family and roles as wife and mother, life in rural Wisconsin is satisfying, but can’t seem to quell Skyla’s growing sense of restlessness. Her only reprieve is her growing friendship with neighbor Roxanne, who has five kids (and counting) and a life in constant disarray – but also a life filled with laughter and love." 

I enjoyed McQuestion's The Long Way Home so much I went in search of another book from her. This is a gentler read, but with heartfelt emotions.

Sometimes our friendships develop with the most unlikely people. Unlike Skyla's orderly almost mundane life, her new neighbor Roxanne's is full of chaos, but abundant with joy. A meddling mother-in-law threatens to upset Skyla's relationship with her new best friend. A poignant ending.

4) In the Moon of Asterion, by Rebecca Lochlann

"There is a beast in the labyrinth... a monster. The people say he is both man and bull; they call him Asterion.

Of all Crete's citizens, only two dare enter his lair. One bears his child. The other sees the Goddess in his eyes. Terrifying yet compelling, the beast offers Crete's only hope for redemption."

In the Moon of Asterion is the third book in Lochlann's Child of the Erinyes series (it's currently on sale for the introductory price of 99 cents, along with the first book The Year-god's Daughter). Lochlann again weaves myth and history in this epic tale filled with ancient gods and goddesses, prophecies, heroic men and strong women, in particular Queen Aridela who must lead her people from ruin to rebuild their homeland and rise again as the power they once were.

Lochlann is a true wordsmith who builds a detailed world on the pages. Venture back to ancient Crete with In the Moon of Asterion.

5) Shift Omnibus Edition (Shift 1-3), by Hugh Howey

"In 2007, the Center for Automation in Nanobiotech (CAN) outlined the hardware and software platform that would one day allow robots smaller than human cells to make medical diagnoses, conduct repairs, and even self-propagate.

In the same year, the CBS network re-aired a program about the effects of propranolol on sufferers of extreme trauma. A simple pill, it had been discovered, could wipe out the memory of any traumatic event.

At almost the same moment in humanity’s broad history, mankind had discovered the means for bringing about its utter downfall. And the ability to forget it ever happened."

 This is the prequel series to Howey's breakout Wool Omnibus. If you haven't heard about Wool yet, you're missing out. Even if you don't normally read Science Fiction, give these books a try. They're about people, expertly crafted by a truly talented storyteller.

Happy reading,

1 comment:

Rebecca Lochlann said...

Hey thanks! Just saw this.