Wednesday, February 19, 2014

What to Read Next - February, 2014

Where do I start? One huge advantage of the fierce winter weather that has restricted my running to the treadmill is that I'm getting a LOT of reading done this winter while I crank out the miles.  So here are my favorites of all the books I've read in the last few months. Check them out and if you discover a book you enjoy, share it with your friends on Facebook and Twitter.

The Atlantis Gene, by A.G. Riddle

"70,000 years ago, the human race almost went extinct.
We survived, but no one knows how.
Until now.
The countdown to the next stage of human evolution is about to begin, and humanity might not survive this time."

What I love most about reading on my Kindle is trying new genres and finding new authors. A.G. Riddle is tremendously talented. The Atlantis Gene will take you on a thrilling, action-packed ride steeped in evolutionary science and history. Riddle has obviously put a great amount of thought and research into this story.

The Atlantis Plague, by A.G. Riddle

"In Marbella, Spain, Dr. Kate Warner awakens to a horrifying reality: the human race stands on the brink of extinction. A pandemic unlike any before it has swept the globe. Nearly a billion people are dead--and those the Atlantis Plague doesn't kill, it transforms at the genetic level. A few rapidly evolve. The remainder devolve."

The sequel to The Atlantis Gene is even better, if that's possible. It pretty much knocked my socks off.  All the threads begin to come together as you read along and Kate and David's relationship deepens. Action, suspense and mystery with a healthy dose of science and history.

Finding Emma, by Steena Holmes

"A mother’s near-obsessive devotion to her missing daughter threatens to destroy more than one family.

Megan is the harried but happy stay-at-home mother of three little girls living in a small town. Her life implodes when her youngest daughter, Emma, disappears on her third birthday."

An element of mystery surrounds this touching story of an abducted child and the bond that develops with her abductors, and her mother's quest to find her. This had me tearing up at the end.

Emma's Secret, by Steena Holmes

A continuation of Finding Emma. I'll skip the description so there aren't any spoilers, but this is a worthy follow-up to its prequel.

Happy reading!

No comments: