Thursday, October 2, 2014

What To Read Next - Oct. '14

Besides finishing my ninth book recently, I've been immersed in some wonderful stories. There are so many great emerging new writers out there, it blows my mind.

More on my upcoming release soon! It's in the queue for editing and cover art. Meanwhile, I've started plotting two more contemporary novels. Yay!!!

1) The Park Service, by Ryan Winfield

"What if the plan to save Earth includes the extinction of humankind?

Sometimes the best intentions ultimately lead to evil ends. That's what fifteen-year-old Aubrey VanHouten learns when he stumbles onto a post-apocalyptic paradise where the few remaining humans live on the run from deadly drones controlled by a mysterious Park Service."

Action-packed dystopian fiction. I read and enjoyed Winfield's contemporary romance Jane's Melody awhile ago, but I thought this book was even better because the world-building allows Winfield's descriptive talents to come to light. The second installment of the series, Isle of Man, is on my TBR list.

2) Crazy Little Thing, by Tracy Brogan

"If Sadie Turner is good at anything, it’s putting stuff in order. So when she finds her “perfect” life in disarray, she hopes a summer vacation at her aunt’s lake house will help her piece it back together. She wants to relax, reboot, and heal the wounds left by her cheating ex-husband. And that requires time away from men. All men.

Or so she thinks.

With two slobbering dogs and two cousins living there—one a flamboyant decorator intent on making over Sadie—it’s hard to get a moment’s peace at eccentric Aunt Dody’s house, especially with everyone so determined to set her up with Desmond, the sexy new neighbor."

This is my new favorite romance - EVER!  Intelligent, witty, and downright hilarious at times. Brogan had me cracking up on almost every page, but still emotionally invested in Sadie and Des's story. I auto-bought the next Bell Harbor Book, The Best Medicine. That says a lot!

3) The Plagiarist, by Hugh Howey

"Adam Griffey is living two lives. By day, he teaches literature. At night, he steals it. Adam is a plagiarist, an expert reader with an eye for great works. He prowls simulated worlds perusing virtual texts, looking for the next big thing. And when he finds it, he memorizes it page by page, line by line, word for word. And then he brings it back to his world.
But what happens when these virtual worlds begin to seem more real than his own? What happens when the people within them mean more to him than flesh and blood? What happens when a living thing falls in love with someone who does not actually exist?"

Another great story by the SciFi Master, Hugh Howey. This novella pulled me in immediately. It makes you think a lot about how intensely real our imaginary worlds can seem, to the point where you start to wonder. It brings to mind the saying, 'There is no reality; only perception.'

Happy reading!

No comments: